PROGRAMME

PATA 2020 Summit Programme

The PATA 2020 Summit will employ a variety of session formats that are informative, interactive and orientated toward moving discussion from policy to practice, with a focus on service delivery improvements. Each day will begin with an in-country Forum which will allow for country specific updates and local networking. The afternoon will then provide for virtual connection, facilitating connection across EST and GMT and EAT zones starting with a scenesetting Prime Session. Delegates will then choose to participate in several Africa Café, offering a choice linked to the days theme that will highlight case studies, lessons learned, innovations and best practices in the region. The second- and third-day end with a Lekgotla, a moderated panel session to facilitate dialogue and debate between policymakers, frontline health providers and key stakeholders. A PATA Health Provider Champion Award will be announced on the final day. Outside of the formal programme, an online chat room will be created to for participants to share ideas, materials, and tools.

PATA 2020 SUMMIT THEMES

1 DAY 1 - 11 NOVEMBER
2 DAY 2 - 12 NOVEMBER
3 DAY 3 - 13 NOVEMBER
DAY 1 - 11 NOVEMBER

Wake up! Closing the gap for children and adolescents

The first day will set the scene, providing an update against the AIDS Free agenda and missed targets (regionally and nationally). Attention will be placed on why we have failed children and AYP, identifying key barriers and working to better understand the unfolding impact of COVID-19. Emphasis will be placed on delivering stigma-free services to the most marginalised (children and AYP), with emphasis on creating an enabling, friendly, and supportive environment that safeguards the rights of all and ensures we leave no child behind.

DAY 2 - 12 NOVEMBER

Breakthrough! A service delivery framework to drive and deliver services

The second day will focus on accelerator strategies and regional priorities to drive and deliver services. The day will focus on renewed efforts to end paediatric HIV and will feature evidence-based strategies from across different programmatic partnerships on finding, testing, linking, treating and retaining children and AYP affected by HIV. Emphasis will be placed on “Improving HIV Service Delivery for Infants, Children and Adolescents: A framework for country programming” through a framework developed by UNICEF and partners. This framework takes a data-informed, differentiated approach to programming, recognising that different solutions may be needed for different countries, regions, subpopulations of children, and at different points along the continuum of care. Building back from COVID-related setbacks, highlighting adaptations to HIV service delivery that can be sustained following the pandemic will also be featured and integrated into all promising practises shared.

DAY 3 - 13 NOVEMBER

Build Back! Clinic-community action, collaboration and accountability

The last day of the summit will focus on strategies that can facilitate meaningful clinic-community collaboration through joint planning, implementation and evaluation to accelerate comprehensive, coordinated and integrated services. Best practice examples and practical mechanisms and tools will be shared that build partnership, collaboration and social accountability at all levels. Specific examples of clinic-community joint action and differentiated HIV service delivery models adopted in response to COVID will be highlighted.

Key messages and outcomes from the summit will be presented to attending health providers, stakeholders, policymakers and donors during the final Lekgotla with a focus on mapping a way forward with clinic-community action and accountability at the centre. The final day will culminate in the announcement of the PATA Health Provider Champion Award for 2020.

PATA 2020 SUMMIT Session times

SESSION TIMES AND DETAILS FOR EACH TIME ZONE

TIME ZONE
TIME
DETAILS
SAST
09h00
In-country meetings for Main Spokes
EAST
10h00
(You will be informed by the co-host of the Main or Satellite Spoke on what time and where you will be meeting)
CET/WAT
08h00
GMT
07h00
EST
02h00
SAST
12h00
Lunch for those at a Main or Satellite Spoke
EAST
13h00
CET/WAT
11h00
GMT
10h00
EST
05h00
VIRTUAL PROGRAMME FOLLOWS
SAST
13h00
Prime Session
EAST
14h00
(80min)
CET/WAT
12h00
GMT
11h00
EST
06h00
SAST
14h30
Africa Café
EAST
15h30
(60min)
CET/WAT
13h30
GMT
12h30
EST
07h30
SAST
15h40
Lekgotla or Special Session
EAST
16h40
(80min)
CET/WAT
14h40
GMT
13h40
EST
08h40

PATA 2020 SUMMIT PROGRAMME

VIRTUAL PROGRAMME STRUCTURE

DATE
SESSION
THEME
DAY 1
11 November – Wed
Opening Prime Session
Wake up! Closing the gap for children and adolescents
11 November – Wed
Africa Café 1
Covid: mHealth adaptations accelerated
11 November – Wed
Africa Café 2
A framework that delivers: a country context
11 November – Wed
Special Session
Paediatric Treatment updates
DAY 2
12 November – Thurs
Prime Session
Breakthrough! A service delivery framework to drive and deliver services for infants, children and adolescents
12 November – Thurs
Africa Café 1
What works for adolescent mothers and marginalised youth?
12 November – Thurs
Africa Café 2
Differentiated and integrated service delivery for children and young people living with HIV
12 November – Thurs
Special Session
Launch of the PATA Clinic Case Consultation
DAY 3
13 November – Fri
Prime Session
Build Back! Clinic-community action, collaboration, and accountability
13 November – Fri
Africa Café 1
Community youth-led monitoring and advocacy
13 November – Fri
Africa Café 2
Health provider advocacy and rights
13 November – Fri
Lekgotla and closing
Breakthrough: Prioritizing and investing in Children and Communities to build back better from COVID

Please note: The details of all speakers can be found on the virtual hub, once you have signed in.